Zoom Q3HD Review

Today I am going to do a very quick review on the Zoom Q3HD handy video recorder. At first, I wasn’t too sure if I wanted to buy this because it was a little bit pricey. However, I did want to be able to shoot HD quality videos for my youtube account as well as live performances of Thunder Brother and the bands that we frequently play with. About a month after making this purchase I am stoked that I have this at my fingertips.

The sound quality that this recorder has produced for the situations I have used it in is great. It is doing exactly what I wanted it to do by producing well sounding recordings with HD video in very loud situations. The lows actually sound like bass instead of sounding “clicky.” The cymbals and high treble sounds aren’t peaky, crunchy, or washy. The levels round out nicely and produce a pleasant sound instead of the washy, cluttered, noise of a typical recording at these loud venues and settings.

As for the video, the recorder doesn’t do super awesome in producing high quality images in low lighting. However, it does do a lot better job than most other recorders out there that are being sold for about $100 less. When the lighting is “normal” the video turns out very high quality, and clear. You can also hook the camera up to your TV and use it as a monitor if you have it close at hand.

On top of all this, the recorder fits in your pocket. That is pretty much all I need to say about its size and convenience for getting it to and from locations with no hassle.

One flaw of the Q3HD is that it drains batteries like crazy. Think back to the first issue of the Razor cell phone? An average set of 2 AA’s last about 35 or 45 minutes. The AC cord isn’t very long either, so you are going to have to be pretty close to an outlet if you are trying to use that as an alternative. Think about being at a live show, you are going to want to be able to see and be up front most of the time if you are trying to get footage. You definitely aren’t going to find a plug in by stage that people aren’t going to trip over or bump in to.

Also, the accessories pack isn’t included? This, of course, costs an extra $40 to get the HDMI cable, AV Jacks, windscreen, small tripod, and most importantly the AC adaptor. It is a little frustrating to finally decide on a purchase like this and then find out you basically need to go $50 over what you originally intended to really get everything that you need with it.

This all being said, I am very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend it to those trying to record live shows with little hassle or do guitar/drum/bass or any type of lesson on youtube. Below I will post some videos I have shot with it. Give me some feedback!

I have solved the audio problem with this first video so in my next drum lesson you will hear me more clearly and louder.

Follow the Langoliers on Facebook by clicking here!!!!

Follow Tennessee Scum on Facebook by clicking here!!!

 

Leave a Reply

