RECORDS!

As promised yesterday, today I am talking all about Record Store Day. Yesterday I found myself at Grimeys New and Preloved Music here in Nashville, TN for my first Record Store Day outing. Before I went, I knew it was a big deal. However, after I got there I realized just how awesome this day is and all the great musicians in this town. The stage was setup outside for live music all day and both inside and out of the store there was a flood of people. There was also tons of vinyl out for sale including an exclusive tent for special releases that  were released for the occasion.

I got to watch Pujol, Jeff the Brotherhood, and I caught one song of Caitlin Rose which was awesome. She had some twangy guitar licks, soulful lap steel, warm keys, and pocket drumming that all sounded so great together. I really wish I would have caught more of her set. JEFF the Brotherhood surprised everyone by adding a couple friends to the set and playing a couple new tunes. Pujol put on a solid set with a lot of energy and it was the first time I got to really see a whole complete set from him. I must say that the drummer is killin it! Always in time and has tons of punch and tasteful fills and catches all the small nuances between the bass and guitar. I am pretty sure he also plays with a band here called King Arthur that I recently watched in Murfreesboro, TN at Tour De Fun which has a different soul-ish kind of vibe. Great drumming and I will post links to find this stuff below for sure! Here are some pictures for the meantime.

Normally lunch wouldn’t be a big deal, but we went to Burger King yesterday to partake in the Whoppers and sweet fries and found a new promo item. BACON SUNDAES????? I don’t know about you, but this sounds terrible to me. Had to bring it up.

Not only did I get to watch other bands play on one of the biggest days in Music City, I also got to take part in it myself. Thunder Brother got to put another marker on the timeline and played at Foobar for the occasion of course. We got to play with our new friends Debonair here from Nashville and boy do they have an original show. Two basses, tons of linear drum grooves, and some rockin guitar.  Definitely something to check out. Here are a couple flyers for the show at Foobar.

CLICK ON THE LINKS BELOW TO CHECK OUT ALL THE MENTIONED ARTISTS/PLACES FROM THIS POST

GRIMEYS NEW AND PRELOVED MUSIC

FOOBAR

JEFF THE BROTHERHOOD

PUJOL

CAITLIN ROSE

DEBONAIR

THUNDER BROTHER

KING ARTHUR

Leave a Reply

